Anyone else feel like they blinked and half of April vanished? I’m happy to report the days are getting longer, the weather has been really lovely recently (Translation: sunny and less windy) and lockdown restrictions continue to ease. As of yesterday, we are now allowed to have six people from three households meeting as long as everyone maintains proper distancing and in about 10 days, pubs with outdoor seating will be able to open!

While lockdown here was much stricter than in the US (literally gas stations, grocery stores, post offices, etc are the only shops open currently), it’s been really nice for the most part. It’s truly been a forced stop and smell the roses kind of experience, plus it’s given me a chance to take a step back and savor life’s little moments a bit more. Little things like having my coffee in the sun room (instead of remembering I’d poured a cup hours later and not remembering where I left it) or spending the day getting lost in my painting. Life in this quaint little seaside village is slower, less hurried… though it does have it’s disadvantages. Specifically when I’m about to make dinner and realize I’m missing a key ingredient, and can’t just dash to the store. I like to hope it’s made me more mindful about grocery shopping, but the jury is still out on that one.

This recipe is will forever be my new go to for brownies from now on, courtesy of a close friend and one of my favorite people (despite the fact he taunted me with pictures of these brownies for months). I should confess, I’m not normally a chocolate person, but I absolutely adore these. Now you too can also impress friends, family and co-workers with this super easy, made from scratch, not-your-everyday-brownie recipe.

Cheeky Chocolate Orange Brownies

Ingredients:

Ingredients are in grams and should be weighed for best results

  • 185g unsalted butter (about 1 1/2 sticks)
  • 50g 70% dark chocolate (1/2 Lindt Chocolate Bar from baking section NOT BAKERS CHOCOLATE)
  • 1 whole choc orange
  • 85g all purpose flour
  • 60g cocoa powder (dutch milled & unsweetened)
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 275g sugar

In double boiler (or glass/ metal bowl over pot with water): 
Melt butter and chocolate together, then leave to cool AT LEAST 10-15 minutes, you want it to be almost room temperature, but not solid. (It’s VERY IMPORTANT to let chocolate cool so it doesn’t cook the eggs!)

Once chocolate is cooled, mix all ingredients. Mix together until all combined and pour into 9 x 12 inch greased dish/ tray with parchment paper.

Bake 325F (Metric: 180C / 160C Fan / Gas 4) for approximately 25 minutes. (It should become a bit crispy on top). Poke knife in the center if comes out clear, done. If not, give it some more time. 

Cover with a tea towel and let cool completely. Then, comes the best part… cut into squares and enjoy!

You may want to keep ingredients on hand so you are ready to whip up a batch of these beauties at any given time 🙂